Symbolism in My Stories

Symbolism is the use of words or images to represent specific ideas or characters in stories. We can use symbols to communicate an overall theme of what you are trying to convey in the story or small gestures that can help a writer give meaning to a character or place within a story.

I don’t worry too much about symbolism at the beginning and just get the story down. I find that little ideas of symbolism occur to you as you edit. This can be a really fun part of the editing process. At the end of editing and re-editing the many drafts of your story any symbolism that you have inserted can seem flawless within the story.

The Divine Life; In the Middle of the Journey of our Life, A.J FitzRoy

In my own stories I often use clothes as symbolic items. In Savage Beauty, Rosie’s old itchy jumper she brings with her from home on her travels is a symbolism of her past self. In Tel Aviv she takes off the jumper when it becomes too hot and itchy. She has begun to shed her old self on her journey.

Savage Beauty, A.J FitzRoy

Rosie’s boyfriend Arnold, that she had started her journey with, gives her back the jumper from home she had lost. Later, when she leaves Tel Aviv on her own she discards the old jumper because it no longer fits into the new person she is becoming.

Savage Beauty, A.J FitzRoy

In the novella I am writing at the moment, The Divine Life, David’s grey suit, a symbol of his careful maticulisnm and material possessions becomes soiled by his experiences. He slowly discards the tie and then the suit jacket on his journey as a symbolic gesture of learning and discarding parts of his old self.

The themes of light and time used in my novella are a nod to the themes in Dante’s, The Divine Comedy that the story is inspired from. By using these themes it gives my story a consistency of meaning and symbolism relevant to the Divine Comedy. If you have read The Divine Comedy you will understand the symbolism in my own story, but I also wanted my story to stand on its own, so that if you haven’t read the Divine Comedy you can still enjoy my novella.

The Divine Life: Empyrean, A.J FitzRoy

There are overarching themes in my stories that are often developed after I have written the first edition. In my novel, Savage Beauty the theme of windows is often used as a symbol of the character’s feeling of being an outsider, of looking out at the world rather than participating in it. At the last chapter a neighbour looks through her window at Rosie as a complete change of POV. The use of windows as a theme did not occur until many drafts of editing, but once I had seen this in my own writing it just seemed to fit perfectly and I enhanced that theme when I went back over the story.

One thought on “Symbolism in My Stories

Add yours

  1. Nicely put. I’ve just posted something similar, focusing instead on the finer details of a novel. Sometimes those final points and beats of symbolism don’t feel coherent enough in the first draft. It’s not until later drafts when these little jewels can be sprinkled in. Often, I find that even I don’t fully understand the symbolism of an item until I’m in the editing process and can weave them with more definition or nuance.

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Discover more from A.J FitzRoy

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started